And down she goes

In my last post but one I was talking about slippery slopes, wasn’t I? And left you without explaining what I meant.

I was referring to this stole I made. I had some balls of rayon that Jaishree gifted me, which were sources of amazement to me primarily because of the fact that they stayed rolled. I find the yarn so slippery I cannot manage to roll it from a hank, yet she actually wound several balls and gave them to me.

So I decided it was time to liberate them from stash. And since weaving is my new madness, they were to be woven. The yarn is very thin, so I chose to double the ends, and somehow I thought I had enough in one colour to warp across almost the entire width of the loom. So off I went with the orange, only to find it ended almost exactly halfway across. Then I had to quickly pick another colour, or risk undoing and redoing the warp, which would have resulted in almost definite destruction of the yarn, since I found even winding it on the first time quite fiddly. I finally had to poke a hole in the lid of a plastic dabba and put the balls in it to somewhat control the yarn.

I had gold as well, so the second half of the warp went golden. And the beginning of the stole too. The other colour I had was pink, and so it made the major part of the weft. I’m lucky the colours worked as well together as they did.

I was very happy, because I wanted iridescence, and I got it! This is the phenomenon where the fabric shows a different colour where it drapes in hollows and highs. This was supposed to be a dress rehearsal for some real silk yarn I spent a fortune on when I visited Silkindian in Bangalore in February. So I’m hoping it will work for that as well.

The other thing that makes me happy is that I sold the stole! To a friend who liked it enough to gift it to someone she said liked it as well 🙂

ImageImage

But to every summit, there is a valley. And to this one you can attach this:

Image

While that looks harmless enough, it is not what it was supposed to be. Following my success making a double width fabric (which shall be documented later), I thought I’d try a pattern in double width. Despite spending a couple of days studying the possible threading of two heddles in two colours with Word, Excel and Pixeloom, I’m afraid I could not conquer that particular peak. I think I got the warping right after several attempts, and even managed to insert the pickup sticks, but met my nemesis at the actual weaving stage, where I could not wrap my head around the alternate coloured picks in two layers.

So, a failure. Partly redeemed by the fact that I did my first log cabin (and understood the basic logic for hopefully any sort), and that I used uncrafty materials (plastic bobbins made to wind excess power cables around) as shuttles. At 4″ long, they are quite suited for narrow width warps. Cheap and accessible.

Image

One thought on “And down she goes

Leave a Reply

